Saturday, December 3, 2022

14 NATO members, Finland to create joint European air defense system

by The Kyiv Independent news deskOctober 13, 2022 2:15 pm

Defense ministers of 14 NATO allies and Finland have agreed to develop an air and missile defense system called "European Sky Shield Initiative" to strengthen NATO's ability to defend its members, the organization reported on Oct 13.

"This commitment is even more crucial today, as we witness the ruthless and indiscriminate missile attacks by Russia in Ukraine, killing civilians and destroying critical infrastructure," said NATO Deputy Secretary General Mircea Geoana.

The initiative implies the joint acquisition of air defense equipment and missiles by European nations, which would allow them to enhance "their deterrence and defense in an efficient and cost-effective way," according to NATO's press office.

The participating countries include Belgium, Bulgaria, Czechia, Estonia, Germany, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Norway, Slovakia, Slovenia, Romania, the United Kingdom, and Finland.

The Kyiv Independent news desk
The Kyiv Independent news desk

We are here to make sure our readers get quick, essential updates about the events in Ukraine.

Independent journalism
for an independent Ukraine
Independence is an expensive currency. Both Ukraine and its journalists are paying a high price to preserve its independence. Support Ukraine's trusted journalism in its darkest hour.