logo_headerThursday, September 29, 2022

external42 countries urge Russia to withdraw troops from Zaporizhzhia Nuclear Power Plant.

This item is part of our running news digest

August 14, 2022 6:56 pmby The Kyiv Independent news desk

All EU members, Norway, Great Britain, USA, Canada, Japan, South Korea, Australia, New Zealand, Georgia, Moldova, North Macedonia, and Turkey joined the statement. The countries argued that Russia's control over the Zaporizhzhia Nuclear Power Plant in Russian-occupied Enerhodar poses a threat to nuclear safety. Russia, which has constantly been shelling Ukrainian positions from the plant's territory, has been accused of using it as a shield and a tool of blackmail. 

externalGo to the source of this newsSEE OUR NEWS DIGEST
The Kyiv Independent news desk
Author:  The Kyiv Independent news desk
Independent journalism
for an independent Ukraine
Independence is an expensive currency. Both Ukraine and its journalists are paying a high price to preserve its independence. Support Ukraine's trusted journalism in its darkest hour.