Tuesday, December 6, 2022

Zelensky appoints heads of 4 districts in occupied Kherson Oblast

by The Kyiv Independent news deskNovember 9, 2022 7:09 pm

President Volodymyr Zelensky signed a decree appointing four district heads in Kherson Oblast. The four districts are located on the left bank of the Dnipro River, which Russia still occupies.

New heads were appointed to Kakhovka, Hola Prystan, Khrestivka, and Dolmativka.

Hours prior, Russian Defense Minister Sergei Shoigu approved the withdrawal of troops from Kherson, located on the right bank. General Sergey Surovikin, head of Russian forces in Ukraine, said on Nov. 9 that it was "a hard decision." 

"Having assessed the situation, I propose to prepare defenses along the left bank of the Dnipro River," Surovikin said.

The Kyiv Independent news desk
The Kyiv Independent news desk

We are here to make sure our readers get quick, essential updates about the events in Ukraine.

Independent journalism
for an independent Ukraine
Independence is an expensive currency. Both Ukraine and its journalists are paying a high price to preserve its independence. Support Ukraine's trusted journalism in its darkest hour.